#TBT – New Jack City

NewJackCity_Snipes

This film is part of my upbringing. Wesley Snipes kills in the role of Nino Brown, a drug kingpin from Harlem, New York.

I watched this flick in Khayelitsha, it was one the first video tape my mom bought when she bought the VHS video recorder. My mom also bought Boomerang and Pretty Woman…all original might I add.

While this movie is all about the glamorous  lifestyle of Brown, I was taken away by the fashion and Brown’s street-smart approach to his business – his drug operation was functioning as a corporation.

It really opened my eyes, not only about the dangers of taking short-cuts via the Underworld; but I related to Brown’s desperate move to make his life better.

Brown was ahead of his time and Snipes really brought the character to life.

Shout out to director Mario Van Peebles for a stellar job on this film.

Would love to hear your New Jack City memories. You can hit me up with a comment below or on Twitter @umjaka

One thought on “#TBT – New Jack City

Leave a comment